Two New Dolls (Lagoona and Merida)

21 Jun

MeridaLagoona01
Over the last week Iv procured two new dolls for my collection. One is my second Monster High and the other is a Disney doll that I ordered online a while back.
Lets take a look at the MH doll first!

This is Lagoona. It was always my plan to get a Lagoona next after Draculaura. Being that I am a huge fan of sea life and mermaid type fantasy peoples, I am absolutely smitten with Lagoona. Actually if anything, I think she could stand to be a bit more fishy. I love her webbed fingers, but I do wish that her webbed ears were bigger and stuck out more.

Lagoona03

I plan on eventually getting the MH “Create your own monster” siren tail and turning her into a mermaid. To everyone who has said that Monster High shouldn’t have mermaids because mermaids are not monsters, I say that you have clearly not read much about traditional mermaid lore. For that matter, Monster High should really include a faerie at some point.

Lagoona01 Lagoona02

As you can see she photographs incredibly nicely. I love her colours and her eerie blue-green skin.
I think she looks a lot creepier and a lot more feral then Draculaura does. Her hair was also a lot nicer.
And here she is on my shelf!

Lagoona04 Lagoona05

Next up, Merida!
I absolutely love the Disney/Pixar film Brave. I thought it was absolutely fantastic, and Merida is one of my favourite heroines, so when I saw Merida dolls at Toys R Us I was interested. I held off though because Mattels Merida dolls look…. terrible. I couldn’t justify spending money on a doll that would ultimately disappoint me because it didn’t look a thing like the character it was representing.

Merida04 Merida03

This, however, is the Disney Store exclusive Merida and it, OH MY WORD ACTUALLY LOOKS LIKE MERIDA.
Despite all the recent controversy around Meridas new Disney “redesign“, the Disney Store Merida doll is actually accurate, featuring her in her proper dress (and not some fashionista reinvisioning of it like Mattels dolls) and with her bow and arrow.

Merida02 Merida01

Shes also way better quality then I ever imagined she would be! Shes got 13 joints, including elbows, knees, wrists and ankles. Its also worth noting that her feet do NOT come molded for high heels, and she instead wears flats. This is completely in keeping with her character, heels would certainly not have been.
Unfortunately for me, my dolls left leg is a bit faulty and doesn’t allow her to sit, and since she doesn’t come with a stand, it makes it incredibly difficult to position her on my shelf.

Merida06 Merida05

Next to the Monster High dolls shes a bit taller at 11”. Next to her, Lagoona looks quite a bit younger!

MeridaLagoona02

Ill be getting my first Kurhn in a couple of days as well, so excited to get that one in!

4 Responses to “Two New Dolls (Lagoona and Merida)”

  1. sofafrog August 21, 2013 at 8:59 am #

    I just bought my first monster high doll the other day and it was a Lagoona. I bought the roller skating one as I liked her fishy fin helmet and boots.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Talking Sofia the First | Pixie Collections - July 22, 2013

    […] I was really excited about this doll, as it is the only Sofia toy that really really looks like the character from the cartoon series. Interestingly, the Disney Store Exclusive in this case is NOT a great looking doll (even if it is more articulated) and Mattel wins out this round, which is usually the other way around. […]

  2. Elsa! Disney’s Frozen | Pixie Collections - October 18, 2013

    […] but its still not nearly as full as I would like it to be and does not look nearly as good as Meridas dress for example. That said, its still a great outfit and I really love that its elegant without being […]

Leave a Reply

