Skelita! Día de Muertos

29 Jul

SkelitaDress01

Today I purchased a Monster High doll that I have been wanting for a while! I saw this one online and knew that it was one I wanted to add to my collection. This is possibly THE coolest MH doll out there. Its apparently a little on the hard to find side, so I was pretty happy to see it on shelves at my local Target.

SkelitaDress03 SkelitaDress02

Her design is very Day of the Dead and looks absolutely FANTASTIC. I absolutely LOVE the stylized theatrical makeup instead of the glitzy glam makeup these girls usually wear. Its a very different look then the other MH dolls and I adore it. Her look is way less teenage fashionista and more monster, which is great. Iv always liked the IDEA of the MH dolls, but tend to find that most of them are a bit too fashion focused for me and not enough monster focused, but this one is amazing on that front.
Of course what makes all of it come together is the body on this doll.

Skelita04 Skelita03 Skelita02

LOOK AT THIS. She has a FULLY SCULPTED skeleton body. And it is GORGEOUS.
I cant think of many other MH dolls have have as unique a sculpt as Skelita. This is why I really wanted this one, because its the perfect marriage of creepy and beautiful.

SkelitaBody02 SkelitaBody01

Just look at the detail! Its incredible! Now, her anatomy is a little weird. She still has breasts and a bum molded into her bones which is a little weird, though understandable. I think its mostly to make sure her clothes hang normally on her frame, and I don’t mind it. The only other issue is that shes not nearly as poseable as the other MH dolls. Her knees don’t bend well, her head is hard to turn, and her arms are very stiff. But honestly, I don’t mind the limited articulation if it means such gloriously beautiful detail on the mold. 100% my favourite Monster High.

SkelitaOnShelf

6 Responses to “Skelita! Día de Muertos”

  1. barbielea July 29, 2013 at 9:26 pm #

    Lovely pictures …

    Skelita is my favourite Scaris doll, and the first one I bought. I actually (slightly) prefer the Skeleton Create-a-Monster, who is one of my favourite MHs of all time. She doesn’t have that amazing Skelita body mold, sadly, but she does have a fabulous ribcage dress.

    • pixiecollections July 30, 2013 at 2:38 am #

      The ribcage dress IS great, but Im particularly a fan of the SHOES that come with the CAM Skeleton. They really add to it. 😀

  2. sofafrog August 21, 2013 at 8:56 am #

    I like her body but am not so keen on her hair/face/dress. I am hoping to see what she looks like in future sets. If i was to buy her I would be tempted to keep her naked to show her skeleton body at all times.

    • pixiecollections August 21, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

      I know Im seriously torn between displaying her naked or not as well! I actually really like her halloweeny looking dress personaly, but I love her fantastic body.
      There are some other Skelitas without the Day of the Dead facepaint you might like better, but they don’t have the fully skeleton body.

  3. alyssabearr November 27, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

    why have i never seen these!?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Poster Doll | Stories in 5 Minutes - August 12, 2013

    […] Skelita! Día de Muertos (pixiecollections.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

