Snow Queen Lottie

18 Aug

SnowQueen02
Lottie is quite possibly the sweetest thing ever.
I heard about the Lottie dolls quite a while ago, before they were available in Canada. Its a UK brand that I was extremely excited to see on shelves over here. Cant get her at the big name places like Toys R Us or Target, but I found her at a local independently run business called Loadza Toys. (When a friend of mine working there told me they had started carrying Lottie about a month ago I was so super excited!) Why is Lottie amazing? Lottie is a fashion doll that’s been built to actually look like a child rather then a weirdly sexualized adult or teen. You can read more about the concept behind her on the Lottie website and Facebook pages. I adore the concept behind Lottie, and am super stoked to add her to my collection. Iv talked before about liking a doll with minimal makeup and sexualised modern fashions, and this doll is fantastic on that front.

But now, onto the doll itself!
SnowQueenMask01 SnowQueenMask02 SnowQueenMask03

So this is Snow Queen Lottie. Other Lotties come in more practical, play outfits (which I love) but for my first one I have to admit I had been drooling over the lovely ballgown this one is sporting. Shes done up for a costume party, where she is dressed for the part of the Snow Queen of folk lore. I do love her beautiful Snow Queen dress, she looks absolutely darling. Im a sucker for “girly” looking gowns and dresses, I have to admit. But its really neat that not all Lotties are this girly, in fact, this is the fanciest and “girliest” of all the available Lottie dolls.

SnowQueen04 SnowQueen03 SnowQueen01

The mask and shawl are removable, and here you can see Lotties unbelievably sweet face. She reminds me a lot of Licca-chan and Kurhn, and I don’t think Id be wrong in assuming that that’s the aesthetic they were going for. Its a very childlike, innocent and sweet face, refreshing when compared to the pouty bratty look of a lot of other dolls out there. And no makeup! Awesome!

I wish she was a bit more posable however. Her knees are “clicky-knees” but the left knee on mine is faulty, so while the other works fine it dosnt help much. Her arms don’t pose at all, but maybe in the future they will release Lotties with a bit more articulation. One of the neat selling points though is that she can stand on her own without needing a doll stand!  As the box says,  “She can stand on her own two feet, always a useful life skill for all girls, big and small!”

Shes also QUITE small, much much smaller then I thought when I saw them online. Which I love! It makes them all the more adorable and collectable. Here she is on my shelves next to some of my other dolls for size comparisons:

SnowQueenSizeComparison SnowQueenOnShelf

All in all I love Lottie. Shes so cute and so well proportioned, I cant get enough of it! I will for sure be getting more Lotties, and I wholeheartedly recommend Lottie if you are looking for a more wholesome alternative for your kids. 🙂

Leave a comment