My First Dolly

30 Sep

Dee03

I thought Id take a brief interlude from posting about new awesome stuff and talk a bit about something a bit older.
I have only recently started really delving into doll collecting, and as I gaze at my quickly growing collection of Monster Highs, Kurhns and Disney Characters, I thought it would be interesting to take a look at one of the oldest toys I own and the first doll I ever owned.
Meet Dee.
Now I don’t collect baby dolls, but Dee has been with me almost me entire life and has a lot of sentimental value to me. He is very ratty now, in extremely bad condition, but I love him anyways, because he is a piece of my childhood. I don’t know what type of doll he is, (Update: I have discovered that he is a Uneeda doll!) and Iv lost anything he ever came with.

Dee01 Dee02 Dee04
Im going to try to get him cleaned up. Ill try to either make him some clothes or track down something for him to wear, he has been naked for years now!! He also needs a good scrubbing as his plastic bits are all stained and grubby. Don’t know how Im going to get the marker off though, that might have to stay. If anyone knows of a good product for removing years old marker off of plastic dolls, please let me know! 🙂

Its also a shame that his eyelids don’t function very well and hes missing eyelashes, but hey. Its an old, very well loved toy, so Im not too worried about that. If you’ve read the Velveteen Rabbit, you know what I mean. Hes real.

Dee05 Dee06 Dee07

One of the oldest toys I own today, and very very special to me.
Id be curious what other collectors cherish from their childhoods! Whats your oldest toy that you never let go of for sentimental reasons? Is it in good condition, or did you all but destroy it with love and play? Is your current collection in the same vein, or did you go in a completely different direction as an adult?

Dee is a very special doll to me, even if hes not much to look at 🙂

4 Responses to “My First Dolly”

  1. barbielea October 4, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

    Awww. It’s great you still got your childhood doll! I have one teddy from my babyhood and my childhood barbie – the rest are either in my parents’ attic or (more likely) in some landfill after one of my dad’s infamous clearouts 😦 Anyhoo, the pen is going to be pretty easy to remove, you just need some acne cream that contains 10% benzoyl peroxide – if this isn’t available at your local chemist (in the UK it can be a little hard to find) try Amazon which is where I got mine. Simply apply to the marks on his poor old face then expose for upwards of three hours to a strong source of light. Reports vary on how long it will take and how many times you will need to reapply, but if it doesn’t work at first I’d say just persevere until it does. About the source of light – I treated an old Sindy with pen on her face by leaving her outside in the hot sun for more or less two days when we had a heatwave over here. If you’re in Florida or something you won’t have a problem otherwise you might need to leave your doll in front of a lightbulb, as close as possible without burning the plastic and of course keep checking on it.it really does work, I’ve tried it myself. Good luck with it 🙂

    • pixiecollections October 10, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

      Thanks for the advice!
      10% benzoyl peroxide requires a prescription here, but I found some at 5% and left it on for two 8 hour periods and it worked like a dream! He looks better then hes looked in years!!

      • barbielea October 10, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

        It’s a pleasure, that’s great news. Post some updates when you’re done – I love Dollovers 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dee Dressed and Fixed up! | Pixie Collections - October 25, 2013

    […] may recall that a short while ago I posted some pictures of my old childhood doll Dee. I didn’t have a lot of hope of ever getting him into decent shape, because he was so ratty […]

Leave a comment